Getting Press Coverage on a Zero Budget

One thing that every businessperson shares is their belief that what they are doing is important.  And they believe that the world should know!  Yet only a small fraction actually make it to television, radio, newspapers or magazines.  Why?

Because producers and editors are inundated with requests and, as the editor of Inc. magazine once admitted in print, they throw them away unread.  Here’s the secret: producers and editors want stories on subjects that they are interested in not what you’re interested in.

Lord knows nobody cared that I started an executive recruiting firm to promote the hiring of veterans.  That was back in 2009.  And there was not a single media outlet interested when I sent out a press release when a US Government agency refused to work with because I promote the hiring of veterans!  Yes, you read that correctly.  I thought I had the perfect story.  No one was interested – and I provided the proof in writing, a signed letter from a Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army – that’s the US Army, not the Chinese Army!

So how in the world have I been able, without spending a dime, to get quoted in over 450 articles appearing in over 250 newspapers and websites, nationally and internationally, from AM New York and AOL to the US News & World Report and Yahoo?  And how did I turn that attention into a career counseling service?

To learn the answers, join me for my presentation, Getting Press Coverage on a Zero Budget.  Part of the Manhattan Chamber of Commerce’s MarketingWeekNYC,TM the workshop will take place Thursday, July 18, from 10:00 to 11:00 AM at Grace Corporate Park, 255 West 36th Street, 8th Floor, New York, NY.  Pre-registration is required:  http:// www.hsstaffing.com/Media_PR.html.

